Weekly Mission Report – May 30th

Hello Everybody,

This week has been amazing. We had an awesome district meeting that got everyone fired up. We set some big goals and held each other accountable for them. We really weren’t sure if we were going to pull it off but the district really rallied together and did it. It was amazing. Our goal was to hit over 50 lessons this week. It was a big goal for this area and district. The district has never before hit a goal like this. We ended up with a total of 59 lessons. It was amazing! It was such a good feeling to see this happen and watch everyone come together for it. No one had to pull another companionship’s weight. We had lots of miracles happen this week as a district. We had a baptism in the ward. Not by us, but by the Sisters. We taught her at first and then handed her over to the Sisters. It was cool to see that happen because at first she said she would not get baptized until August. So that was just one miracle.

Other cool things that happened was yesterday we ate a huge dinner at a members house. They had tons of family over and it was a big party. The table looked like the dinner table on Duck Dynasty when they are all sitting around it having a good time eating. That’s what this was like. We also had someone do a low country boil for us. I wasn’t able to go because I was on exchanges but they made me a plate. It was really good.

The only other thing that happened this week worth mentioning was lunch on exchanges. So the Elder I was with said we had a lunch at this guys house. So we go over and waited outside until he got home. He pulls up and has the other Elders in the ward with him for lunch as well. We get inside and the other Elders lean over to us and say “ya’ll weren’t suppose to be here. They were only expecting us.” It was so awkward. I obviously had no idea what was going on but I guess there was some miscommunication. We told the guy sorry and said we would leave. He said that we could stay since we were already were there. It was awful and so awkward. They didn’t even eat because they only had enough chairs for 4 people and only enough food for 4 people. We felt so bad. Then to make it worse I tried to lighten the mood and asked how the day was going. The guy said, well my wife wrecked my car this morning. I thought he said that she vacuumed his car so I said oh that’s great, that’s awesome, that’s super nice of her. Everyone was giving me weird looks and I couldn’t figure out why, so I just shut up and my companion tried to save me by making it sound sarcastic. Then halfway through I realized what happened. I felt so dumb. Probably the most awkward lunch I have ever been to. It was so bad. It’s funny now, but it wasn’t then. We were so mad after we got out of it.

That’s about it for this week. Ya’ll have a great day. Thanks for everything.

Elder Goodsell

Leave a Reply

